January 14, 2020

Jay K. Bhama, M.D., Joins UAMS as Chief of Division of Cardiovascular Surgery

Jay Bhama, M.D.

By Amy Widner Jay K. Bhama, M.D., has joined the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) as a heart surgeon, professor and chief of the Division of Cardiovascular Surgery in the Department of Surgery. He will lead the cardiovascular program at UAMS by working alongside Paul Mounsey, M.D., director of the Division of Cardiovascular…

October 30, 2019

Mary Appleby Honored for 34 Years of Service

Mary Appleby poses with Department Chair Ronald Robertson

After 34 years of service to the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, our beloved Mary Appleby is retiring October 31, 2019. We want to wish Mary much happiness and prosperity in her retirement. We want to give Mary a very special “Thank You” and wish her all the best. She will be greatly missed….

October 23, 2019

UAMS Researchers Demonstrate Rapid DNA Sequencing for TechFest Attendees

Thidathip (Tip) Wongsurawat, Ph.D., demonstrates use of a hand-held DNA sequencing device.

By David Robinson Among the many things attendees of the recent TechFest Little Rock learned is that cutting-edge applications of genome sequencing are happening just a few miles away – at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS). UAMS’ David Ussery, Ph.D., led a workshop at the Oct. 9-11 event that highlighted recent advances…

September 5, 2019

UAMS Liver Transplant Program Added to Prestigious National Network

Liver transplant team

By Yavonda Chase The UAMS liver transplant program has been recognized as a Center of Excellence for Adult Liver Transplant by the Clinical Sciences Institute at Optum, part of UnitedHealth Group. Optum evaluates transplant programs throughout the United States, accepting select programs into its Center of Excellence Network based on strict criteria to ensure the…

August 23, 2019

Katy A. Marino, M.D., Joins Faculty

Katy Marino

Katy A. Marino, M.D., has joined the Department of Surgery as an Assistant Professor in the Division of Thoracic Surgery. Dr. Marino received her medical degree from Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center, Shreveport in 2012. She completed her general surgery internship and residency at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis and a…

July 29, 2019

Sagar T. Mehta, M.D., Joins Faculty

Sagar Mehta

Sagar T. Mehta, M.D., has joined the Department of Surgery as an Assistant Professor in the Division of Pediatric Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. Dr. Mehta received his medical degree at the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 2011. He completed his general surgery residency, plastic and reconstructive surgery residency and a fellowship in craniofacial surgery at…

July 17, 2019

Top Quality

Ronald Robertson, M.D.

The UAMS Trauma Team, led by Dr. Ron Robertson, Professor and Chair of Surgery, continues to draw national recognition through the Trauma Quality Improvement Project (TQIP). The American College of Surgeons has invited Dr. Robertson to share UAMS’ experiences and best outcomes at the “TQIP Academy” session of the Annual TQIP Conference in Dallas in…

July 12, 2019

Dr. Mizell Featured on Doctors Unbound Podcast

Jason Mizell, M.D.

Most physicians have never taken a financial course. As a result, many make mistakes with money early in their career. Jason Mizell, M.D., of the Department of Surgery, realized this was a huge issue in the medical community and developed a Business and Medicine course from scratch. Perhaps one of the first of its kind,…

June 7, 2019

Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman Honored with Changemaker Award

Ronda Henry-Tillman

Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman received the 2019 Changemaker Alumni Award on June 1 at UC San Diego. The Changemaker Award is given to alumni who have demonstrated an exceptional ability to make positive change happen and whose work has had a significant impact. Congratulations, Dr. Henry-Tillman!

June 6, 2019

Faculty Red Sash Winners 2019

Picture of Honors Convocation programs

The College of Medicine Class of 2019 honored the following Surgery faculty for their teaching: Avi Bhavaraju, M.D. Janina Bonwich, M.D. Ronda Henry-Tillman, M.D. Jason Mizell, M.D. Kevin Sexton, M.D. J.R. (John) Taylor, M.D. Congratulations to these stellar surgeons and educators!

Next page